SBLUESTONE.COM  
Professor Stephen Bluestone
Office: 110B Ware Hall | Telephone: 478-301-4010 | email: bluestone_se@mercer.edu
Office Hours: 9:30-10:40 a.m. (T/Th) and by appointment
Home
Courses
FYS 101 Fall 2009
English 237 Fall 2009
English 333 Fall 2009
FYS 102 Spring 2009
English 235 Spring 2009
English 382 Spring 2009
FYS 101 Fall 2008
English 237 Fall 2008
English 332 Fall 2008
FYS 102  Spring 2008
English 235 Spring 2008
English 340 Spring 2008
This page is designed to be printed 
Fall 2009
 
English 237
 
Course Schedule
 
 
Texts
 
See course.
 
 

ENGLISH 237 COURSE SCHEDULE

Note that this schedule is intended as a flexible plan, not a rigid sequence. I am willing to expand discussion times if that seems appropriate. After long experience, I have found that the best way to teach a film and literature course is to keep an open mind about the schedule. I have therefore included a number of “buffer classes” at the end.

Tues. 25 Aug. Course Intro. Reading assignment Giannetti, ch 1.
Thurs. 27 Aug. Start Welles, Citizen Kane.
Tues. 1 Sept. Discussion. Continue Citizen Kane. Giannetti Quiz 1. Giannetti
                                                                                           assignment, ch. 2.
Thurs. 3 Sept. Citizen Kane. Screening: A Journey through Film with Martin
                                                                        Scorsese
. 7 p.m., Stetson 158.
Tues. 8 Sept. Citizen Kane. Reading assignment Walkabout. Giannetti Quiz 2. Thurs. 10 Sept. Citizen Kane.
Tues. 15 Sept. Start Walkabout. Quiz on Walkabout.
Thurs. 17 Sept. Walkabout. Continue A Journey through Film with Martin
                                                                     Scorsese
. 7 p.m., Stetson 158.
Tues. 22 Sept. Walkabout. Reading assignment The Maltese Falcon.
Thurs. 24 Sept. Walkabout.
Tues. 29 Sept. Walkabout. Reading assignment Giannetti, ch. 3.
Thurs. 1 Oct. Start The Maltese Falcon. Quiz on The Maltese Falcon.
Tues. 6 Oct. The Maltese Falcon.
Thurs. 8 Oct. The Maltese Falcon. Giannetti Quiz 3. Reading assignment Hamlet.
Tues. 13 Oct. The Maltese Falcon. Paper assignment. Reading assignment
                                                                                         Giannetti, ch 4.
Thurs. 15 Oct. No class.
Tues. 20 Oct. The Maltese Falcon.
Thurs 22 Oct. Discussion Hamlet. Quiz on Hamlet.
Tues. 27 Oct. Let the Devil Wear Black. Giannetti Quiz 4.
Thurs. 29 Oct. Let the Devil Wear Black. Paper due. Reading assignment A
                                                                                    Clockwork Orange
.
Tues. 3 Nov. Let the Devil Wear Black.
Thurs. 5 Nov. Let the Devil Wear Black.
Tues. 10 Nov. Start A Clockwork Orange. Quiz on A Clockwork Orange.
Thurs. 12 Nov. A Clockwork Orange. Reading assignment Giannetti, ch 5.
Tues. 17 Nov. A Clockwork Orange. Giannetti Quiz 5.
Thurs. 19 Nov. A Clockwork Orange.
Tues. 24 Nov.  A Clockwork Orange. Final paper assignment.
Thurs. 26 Nov. No class.
Tues. 1 Dec. A Clockwork Orange. Discussion. Last date for optional paper.
Thurs. 3 Dec. A Clockwork Orange.
Tues.  8 Dec. Discussion.
Thurs. 10 Dec. Last class day. 

 
   

It goes without saying that the Mercer Honor Code is in effect at all times in this course.